The Martin de Tours School of Management and Economics (current name) was established in the same year Assumption University was founded in 1969. Assumption University of Thailand is a Catholic institution administered by the Montfort Brothers of Saint Gabriel. Since its inception, the University operated as an autonomous higher education institution under the name of Assumption School of Business (ASB), with the primary aim of providing an opportunity for Assumption Commercial College’s students to further their studies at the baccalaureate level. The institution first started with a student body of just 51.

In June 1972, ASB received full accreditation from the Ministry of Education and changed its name to Assumption Business Administration College, better known as ABAC. It was in May 1973 when ABAC became a co-educational institution and moved to the Hua Mark campus in Bangkok, Thailand. The Ministry of Education later accredited the institution in 1975. During its early years, ABAC only offered undergraduate business education. It was not until 1985 that the institution started offering other curricula. The institution was granted a new status in 1990 as Assumption University (AU) by the Ministry of University Affairs. In 2001, the School moved to a new campus in Samut Prakan province and was subsequently known as Suvarnabhumi campus. After its official inauguration and relocation of laboratories, workshops and other resources, the Suvarnabhumi campus served as the main campus.

The Suvarnabhumi campus is a complex environment with beautiful modern buildings that will bear all the vestiges of a true seat of wisdom. The campus features all the necessary facilities and encapsulates an academic atmosphere that facilitates and encourages the pursuit of knowledge and the opportunity to experience campus life that will lead to the total development of an individual; the metamorphosis of a novice into a seer and sage. The Suvarnabhumi campus will be the nation’s citadel of learning, the pride of our students, their parents, alumni, faculty, staff and it was built with a missionary fervor and zeal and is intended to last, millennium after millennium.

Today, the University has 15 schools and two institutes that offer degrees in the bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral levels in various disciplines including architecture, biotechnology, engineering, language, law, and nursing. The unit of the University offering undergraduate business programs is officially known as the Martin de Tours School of Management and Economics (MSME Business School). Throughout the University’s history, the undergraduate business curricula, and therefore MSME, have always been the flagship and the most prominent programs of the institution.

From 2003 to 2014, the management team of the School was led by Dr. Cherdpong Sribunrueng, then Dean of the Martin de Tours School of Management and Economics. Under his administration, the School offered a wide range of undergraduate programs which includes traditional disciplines such as Marketing, Finance and Banking, Management, Accounting, Management Information Systems, Hospitality and Tourism Management, International Business Management, Industrial Management, Real Estate, Insurance, as well as emerging fields of study like Business Economics. The objective was not only to increase the alternatives for students but also to ensure that the graduates possess the necessary skills to perform successfully in the business world.

Under Dr. Cherdpong’s visionary leadership, the School offered two Master’s degree programs (Master of Science in Supply Chain Management and Master of Science in Financial Economics) and one Doctoral degree program in Business Administration. This would facilitate the students to have uninterrupted opportunity to pursue their studies from the undergraduate to the doctoral level.

Since 2014, the management team of the School is led by Dr. Uree Cheasakul, the current Dean of the Martin de Tours School of Management and Economics. Under her leadership, the School is strengthening its education quality towards international standards, particularly pursuing the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) accreditation.

Contact Us


Huamak Campus:
D-Building, 6th Floor, 24, Hua Mak, Bangkapi Bangkok, 10240 (Thailand)

  • Tel: 0-2300-4543-62; ext. 1125, 1201

Suvarnabhumi (Bangna) Campus:
MSME Building, 2nd Floor, 88 Moo 8 Bang Na-Trad Km. 26 Bangsaothong, Samuthprakarn, 10540 (Thailand) 

  • Tel : 0-2723-2236